Feel the fear…..and do it anyway

When I first started this page back in February, I explained that it would be the journey of a business idea sparking a new-found passion. Up into this point I have put most of my effort (outside of writing my business plan) into educating myself on cigar culture and meeting people in that world. This past weekend I finally was able to put into play the reason behind it all. I hosted my first event as a mobile cigar concierge service and it was more than I ever could have hoped for.

My anxiety grew more and more as the day approached and I kept asking myself if I was at the point of being able to pull this thing off. I almost backed out 3 times, for ridiculous reasons, like my logo not being finished yet or not having a custom tablecloth. I realized that those things were simply fear talking, that was my inner critic trying to tell me I can’t do it. With the help of motivational books in my ear daily and some really supportive friends who reminded me that I was capable, I pushed those fears aside and proceeded.

The event was going to be held outdoors and on Wednesday I got a text saying, “the weather is going to be bad Saturday”. I immediately pulled up the forecast on my phone, saw the 70% chance of rain and felt the anxiety rise again. What am I going to do I thought, who wants to stand out in the rain and smoke cigars.

I tussled with my inner critic again for a few moments and finally told myself there’s nothing you can do now but hope for the best.

Friday evening into night I wrapped up last minute bits and pieces including practicing with my team, one last time. I finally made my way to bed around 1:30am  having to be up by 5:30am. I didn’t even need my alarm to get up  those few hours later, I think I may have slept a total of 2 hours for the night. The day had arrived and it was go time.

Some eight hours later; this cold and wet day in April of 2017 ended up being one of the best days of my life. The concierge service was a hit. The feedback I received from those involved and those who saw pics afterwards solidified my business decision and has beyond excited for it’s future.

We all have great ideas brewing in us, whether it be to start your own business, write a book, etc.  We have to learn to stop giving into fear and start taking chances. You’ll never know if you’re sitting on the next million dollar or life altering idea, if you’re not willing to put it out there and risk. It’s said that the cemetery is the riches place on earth because so many great ideas are buried there. Don’t let them bury your greatness!!

Check out our facebook page   https://www.facebook.com/havanacouture/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

